Personal Injury Time Limitations In Louisiana
There are many types of personal injury cases that a person can file when injured due to the negligence or carelessness of another person or entity. For instance,if you have been bitten by a police K9,you can sue the police for the dog bite. If the neighbor’s dog bites you,it is possible for you to get compensation for the injuries you have sustained. Aside from dog bites,there are also car accident cases,slip and fall,medical malpractice and many other types of injury cases that can be filed in Louisiana. Hiring a competentaccident lawyer will ensure you get a decent compensation for the injuries you sustained.
Louisiana Injury Laws
When it comes to injury laws,the most important thing you need to know is the statute of limitations. The personal injury statute of limitations in Louisiana is just a year. Kentucky and Tennessee also have the same statute of limitations for personal injury cases. This means that anyone who has been injured by a third party in one way or another only has 12 months from the date of the injury to file a personal injury lawsuit in court to get any compensation. If you file a day after the statute of limitations expires,the case will be thrown out of court.
Another injury law in Louisiana that you should know about is the damages cap. In Louisiana,plaintiffs in medical malpractice suits can only receive up to $500,000 as damages. If the sued doctor is covered by the state’s Patient Compensation Fund,they will only be required to pay up to $100,000 out of pocket. The plaintiff is entitled to get over $100,000 from the fund if they win the case.
After getting injured in a car accident,at a medical facility while receiving treatment,after slipping and falling,or any other way,you should preserve evidence and hire the most competentpreparing for car accident court you can find. Be sure to also file an injury suit as soon as possible to ensure the statute of limitations does not expire.