Important Injury Laws in Virginia
Every state has a statute of limitations,which puts a time limit on the amount of time available for you to file an injury lawsuit. In the state of Virginia,the statute of limitation is two years. This timeframe is calculated from the date of the accident. It is absolutely imperative that you get your case filed in the civil court system prior to the two-year deadline. If you miss the deadline,you most probably will not be able to file the lawsuit,because your case will be thrown out for being time-barred.
The state of Virginia does not place damage caps on injury cases. This means that the amount of compensation you can receive is unlimited. There are,however,two exceptions to this rule. The first one is damages in medical malpractice,which is capped at $2 million. The second exception is for punitive damages,which are capped at $350,000.
The state of Virginia also has a harsh rule on shared fault,making a personal injury lawyer essential. This means that if you,the plaintiff,is found to be responsible,or to have played a part in the accident,an amount relative to your share of the fault will be deducted from your final compensation amount.
Virginia also has a one-bite rule concerning personal injury liability for dog bites. This means that the dog owners will be held liable for injuries caused to other people by their dog or animal,provided that the injured party can prove the owner should have known the dog was dangerous. In this case,the dog owner will have to pay compensation for the plaintiff’s injuries. If you reside in the state of Virginia,it is imperative that you take note of the important injury laws in Virginia,because they could come in handy sooner or later.